It’s becoming so clear

21 Apr

Photo by Sipa Press / Rex Features. AERIAL VIEW OF AMAZON RAINFOREST DESTRUCTION

The more I learn about Peak Oil and climate change, the more it becomes clear what a stupid society we live in. As I think about the things we (in the developed world) do that have such massive and often negative effect on the environment and other people, I realise that continuing on in this way of life, even if they were to find another few oil fields, is plain old irresponsible and foolhardy.

I feel it regularly, and have for a long time, although I haven’t always known what to do about it. The lack of community, the isolation of the nuclear family, the work commute waste of time, the ‘retail therapy’ mindset. I mean, really, retail therapy? I’ve never been much of a shopper: although I’m not immune to buying things, going to the mall for fun has never been my ‘thing’!

Yes, they could frack the heck out of North America. Maybe they could figure out how to get every last drop of oil out of the wells. Maybe there are untapped oil resources in the Arctic. Maybe there will be enough electricity / hydrogen / ethanol / vegetable oil to fuel alternative cars. But there are so many things wrong with the options presented by Peak Oil skeptics. How about we just leave the Arctic alone? How about we get back on our horses and bikes instead of clutching desperately to our cars? How about we don’t destroy the environment and cause more pollution by fracturing rocks?

Not to mention the fact that many of our products are produced by sweatshop labour. Someone on the other side of the world has toiled away in misery so that I can ‘have it easy’. And cheap. I don’t want that responsibility on my conscience. Hundreds of animal species are endangered or extinct. Amazonian forests are being cut down at insane rates (something like 6 football fields a minute, if I remember correctly) to make space for grazing beef cattle to make more crappy McDonalds burgers. Honestly, people, what are we doing?!

When you look at the issue from so many perspectives (environmental responsibility, human rights, personal health and happiness, animals rights, etc.) it seems ludicrous. I, for one, am ready to renounce this ‘world owes me a living’ consumer lifestyle, and start living sustainably and ethically. Now to figure out exactly how and when…

2 Responses to “It’s becoming so clear”

  1. informationforager April 21, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    Yea, I like what you wrote. I am preparing for peak oil but it’s an uphill climb. You’re right though. It’s time for a change. I thing that everyone on the planet should become an organic garderner RIGHT NOW. I have my bee hives, my maple syrup thing, my mushroom and berry foraging skills and my garden. Still I fear for the crisis coming.

    On the spiritual side I have my blog, SpiritualThemes that I hope to communicate spiritual values. It’s not to everyone’s like so I don’t knot if you might like it.

    I pray for the future, if not me then someone else. Thanks. Keep Blogging, Keep Writing.

    • thegoodlife101 April 21, 2011 at 12:56 am #

      Thanks for your comment! It’s good to consider the spiritual angle to things as well, something I don’t often do. It’s not only an uphill climb, but a scary uphill climb. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

