Planting brassicas

21 Apr

Today seemed like a good day to plant out my brassica seedlings, so I did. As we are coming up to winter they are about all I will be growing for now, although I am planning to put some herbs in pots on the balcony (easy access). I’m also planning to mulch the second terrace and plant garlic in a month or so.

The first step was to improvise a temporary gate at the bottom of the steps so that I wouldnt have to keep following the climbing toddler up them.

However, said toddler went straight to the other steps and climbed them, so I had to improvise another temporary gate.

With the steps out of reach (for now) I was able to plant out the seedlings in the bottom terraced bed, which was semi-mulched. I added another bag of potting mix and half a bag of compost, and then dug holes at regular intervals to place the seedlings in.

Red cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli, broccoflower and pak choi seedlings

When I attempted to water them using the hose that had been left behind, I was a bit disappointed with the pressure...

So I watered them the old fashioned way with my watering can.

Leave a Reply

