Hot air balloons

23 Apr

Today we drove to Levin to see the hot air balloon show. With the way I have been thinking the last few weeks, about oil consumption etc., I almost pulled the plug on the trip. I don’t quite know how to reconcile the desire to do fun things with my family, especially one-off events like a hot air balloon show, with my desire to consume less petrol and wean myself off my dependence on it. Was it really necessary to drive for 1 1/4 hrs to watch some balloons in the air? No.

Nonetheless, we went. It was wonderful. Families everywhere, local music, terrible food, beautiful balloons. I can’t fathom why there were five hot dog / chip stands, 3 sausage sizzles, two hot donut stands, two snow ice stands, and a chocolate / candy floss stall. Is there no other food option in the Horowhenua?

The baby behaved himself immaculately, and was absolutely mesmerised by the balloons. He got a fright a couple of times as we walked through the grounded balloons; the noise of the gas being turned up was quite sudden and loud. I thought I’d post a few photos here, although I’m not sure what they have to do with self sufficiency!

The band: 'Henpicked'

3 Responses to “Hot air balloons”

  1. Carylann from Henpicked April 30, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    Hello, thanks for posting the photos, they’re beautiful! Did you have any more of the band please? We would love to see them if you do 🙂

    • thegoodlife101 April 30, 2011 at 5:08 am #

      Hi Carylann, I think we have a couple more of you guys, will dig them out and email you this eve. We really enjoyed your set!

  2. Carylann from Henpicked May 3, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Thank you, that will be appreciated:)
    Carylann and Henpicked.

Leave a Reply

