Oily rags stink

8 May

Her purse and lipstick are worth more than my weekly grocery budget.

I haven’t written much in the last week or so. My husband and I are in the process of separating so I’ve been a tad distracted. My thoughts are less about preparing for Peak Oil, becoming self sufficient and moving to a farm, and more about how the heck I’m going to raise my child on the DPB. I thought things were tight on my husband’s salary. Now I’ll have most of the same expenses, and not much more than half the income. It’s scary.

So all my ideas about being more self sufficient are becoming at once more important, and more difficult. Living off the government is a blessing that allows me to be there for my toddler while he most needs his mama. I’m glad to live in a country with a social welfare system. Glad that I won’t be homeless or starving. But it ain’t a well paying job. Being smart with money is now my top priority second only to taking care of my son.

I have a book called How to Live off the Smell of an Oily Rag. It is a very handy book. But it stinks too, that life is about to get so much harder. I know I can do it. I’m not stupid. This isn’t forever. And it’s not like I was raised in a wealthy family; I was raised by a single mum and I know how to live on the cheap. It just stinks, that’s all.

I also have to do it by myself.

Hello, new life!

2 Responses to “Oily rags stink”

  1. Carolyn May 22, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Hi… just found your blog and LOVING IT! I have the same ideas/ideals as you it seems and I love what you are all about… I’m sorry about the seperation… ;-( it does suck… but hey a new wonderful world is waiting for you… may your new venture be AWESOME…
    Much love and see you around… 😉

    • thegoodlife101 May 22, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks Carolyn! I stopped by your blog and had a quick look, looks great! Will have to have a more thorough read when I have the internet at my new place :~)

Leave a Reply

