State # 5

17 May

Here’s some light reading for a Tuesday evening.

Transition and the collapse scenario by Dave Pollard

This article is Full. On. I’m not sure I can deal with it. It’s challenging enough preparing for a crisis scenario. But a collapse? Which we won’t start recovering from until 2100? (And by we, I mean my grandchildren, because I will be dead. It’s not likely that cyborg technology will be developed in an energy deficient world to extend my lifetime beyond it’s natural years.) My brain hurts just thinking about it. So I’m sticking with ‘preparing for a crisis’. I can’t do much more. But the article is interesting, anyway.

Preparing for Economic Collapse by Fernando ‘FerFAL’ Aguirre

I’m showing my age and my ignorance here, but I didn’t even know that Argentina had an economic collapse in 2001. Granted, I was only 14. But it’s a strange awareness that something that big just slipped me by. Fourteen year olds aren’t stupid (a little self-absorbed, perhaps), and I’m fairly sure I watched the news now and then. But I had no idea.

I find it interesting when ‘doomsday naysayers’ say: ‘people have been predicting bad stuff for years, and we’re still alright’, when clearly ‘we’ are not. A major South American economy collapsed. Ten years ago, and they are still recovering. We are in a recession that is not ending. Earthquakes and tsunamis are devastating countries. Many fit, intelligent and capable people are suffering extreme hardship and wondering why. Stuff is happening, people! We are not alright.

Alas, I am unable to follow much of ‘FerFAL’s’ advice, as I have no savings to put into bullion, and I am struggling to buy food for a couple of weeks, much less a whole year. But it’s worth reading advice from someone who has lived through such a catastrophic time.

And lastly, The Six Stages of Awareness by Chris Martenson

This one is less challenging than the other two, but still interesting. I think I have gone through stages 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6. I’m fairly accepting these days, although I still don’t know quite how I’m going to be as prepared as I’d like to be, given my current situation. Like the author, I cycle between 4 and 6 quite often. I think I have skipped 5. I get a bit bummed occasionally, but I don’t think I have gotten depressed about it. I’m a bit too much of a ‘do-er’ to get depressed.

And on that happy note, I’m off to watch ‘Love in the Time of Cholera’.

Leave a Reply

