I really like my car

8 Jun

Today I had a busy out-and-about-day which involved a job interview for a part time nanny position, grocery shopping, taking a meal to a sick friend with a sick baby, dropping my son off to a friend for babysitting, going to an info evening about Home for Life, and picking my son up and taking him home well after his bedtime. I am so grateful for my car. I could not have done all that with a toddler on board if I had to use public transport.

I didn’t get my license until I decided I wanted a baby. I had driving lessons with a rather large bump, and sat my test while a friend took my 4 week old newborn for a walk. So it’s been less than two years that I have been independently driving. For many years I walked, cycled, used public transport, or got lifts from friends. It was fine, because it was all I knew, but once I started driving life became a lot easier.

The day after I got my license, this is what I did, with my newborn son in the backseat, while parking at the library.

(The numberplate wasn’t mooshed. I photoshopped that bit.)

I got a hell of a fright. My baby didn’t even wake up. So much for acing my test; I crashed the car while parking, for goodness’ sakes. Why did I press the accelerator instead of the brake? I don’t know. I had freedom and mobility for a whole day, and then it was back to being stuck at home because the Auckland public transport isn’t even worth bothering with. $750, a wrangle with our insurance company, and a few weeks later, my car was restored.

It’s a good car. Getting a bit old, but it does the job nicely. I’m going to be sad when I can’t use it any more. I almost wish I didn’t get my license, because then I wouldn’t know what I was missing out on in the future when I can’t afford to use it anymore. I know that I should be taking more steps to reduce my dependence on my car, but it’s hard! I know I should reduce my carbon emissions, but I feel like I am being forced to restrict my driving anyway due to petrol prices, and I shouldn’t have to reduce it even more. I’m entitled, right? Isn’t that what my generation expects? I live in a city. Many of my friends are far away. I have a toddler. I can’t give up on my car yet. But I hope I am ready by the time I have to.

4 Responses to “I really like my car”

  1. Jennifer Ward-Pelar June 12, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    I haven’t given up the car either, and I’m a bit ashamed by it. Granted, we move around quite a bit but this past year and a half we’ve been in a city with public transport. It would just take all day to get anywhere. (Sigh.)
    Maybe when my car runs out. It has 132,000 miles. Can’t last forever, right? But I don’t have a little one yet either like you do. So, I really have no excuse. AUGH! We’re moving to a smaller town next and I WILL walk and take the bike more. I will, I will, I will.
    At least we’re aware, right? That’s the first step!

    • thegoodlife101 June 12, 2011 at 2:00 am #

      That’s what I tell myself too. Awareness is the beginning! We can’t all be eco warriors from the get-go. Every change we make makes a difference, and we’ll build up to being super eco :~)

      • Jennifer Ward-Pelar June 12, 2011 at 2:05 am #

        That’s right. One step at a time. I was so impressed to see you only started driving 2 years ago and always used public transit before. I was so impressed! Your carbon footprint must be so light.

  2. thegoodlife101 June 12, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    Hmm, I didn’t think about that! Alright, I feel a little better about my car usage now! I am OK using public transport but with a baby / toddler it just makes things really hard. I look forward to living more locally in the future and having things within walking distance.

Leave a Reply

