The sweetness of motherhood

14 Jun

After all the nappies, the food mess, the endless toys, the demands, the constant attention, the night wakings and all the other challenging aspects of parenthood are put aside, there come moments where nothing was ever sweeter. There are two things I love the most about motherhood. The first is making my son smile and laugh. I swear his giggle is the happiest, most pure sound in the world. The second is the cuddles; especially when he falls asleep in my arms… his nursery is warm and dark and we are snuggled up, just the two of us, and the trust he places in me is such that he falls asleep within minutes, breathing softly against my arm. Oh, my heart! I don’t understand how parents can ever leave their babies to cry themselves to sleep.

Leave a Reply

